Encounter
Extraterrestrials / Aliens
Economics/Social/Culture/Religion
Psychology
Military | Space Warfare |
Militarization of Space | Weaponization of Space
Outer Space Treaties
Artificial Intelligence
Robots / Cyborgs / Tech
Time Travel
Apocalypse
Additional Research Topics:
SETI (search for extra-terrestrial intelligence) programs
Methods for space travel
NASA funding, private space exploration funding (Space X, etc.)
Anthropologies, Ethnographies, Cultural encounters throughout history
Natural resources
Satire, purposes of humor
Our subscription databases are linked directly on campus; you will not need a password - they are validated by IP address.
Off campus, our databases are linked through a proxy server.
The screen will look like this:
You will be prompted for a user name and password. Your login is the same as your textbook credentials:
User Name is your network/email login.
Example: DonahueJ12345
Password:
Look at the number below the barcode of your StX photo ID
5 digit ID# + stx
This sample student's password is:
12345stx
DO NOT PAY FOR ARTICLES!!!
You may find abstracts that interest you in our databases, on the journal websites, or on Google Scholar. If you can't access full text, do not pay for downloading information.
Copy and paste the citation information (including the URL) in an email to jdonahue@stxavier.org
Set up your individual JSTOR account WHILE YOU ARE ON CAMPUS.
Click "Register" in the upper right corner. Once you've registered for your personal account, you will be able to access materials off campus.
A literature review synthesizes current knowledge on a particular topic by summarizing previous scholarly research. It answers this query :
It takes information to find information. Successful searching depends on using viable keywords. PRESEARCHING will help you build your vocabulary bank.
How do you find subject-specific jargon? Use reference resources such as content-area dictionaries.
Where do you find background information and topic context? Use reference resources such as encyclopedias and overviews.
Best databases for reference sources:
Below is a Sampling of Sources.
There are over 500 titles in this database.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
Below is a Sampling of Sources.
There are over 10,000 titles in this database.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Note: look for "principal terms"
Choose articles labeled "Topic Overview"
What databases have SUBJECT OVERVIEWS?
WHY SMART SEARCH?
Search Our Catalog
for print, media & electronic sources
Check out our growing collection of ebooks & audiobooks
on OverDrive
OverDrive Tutorial
Access Gale Virtual Reference Library's 1500+ full-text ebooks.
The ultimate research collection!
Full list of our subscription databases
Databases by Content Area:
Be sure to check Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier and Topic Search to include these databases in your advanced search. These databases will provide articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
