Note: The novels below are all available in our library. Search our Catalog.
Encounter
Extraterrestrials / Aliens
Speaker for the Dead - Orson Scott Card
The Sparrow - Mary Doria Russell
A Case of Conscience - James Blish
Stranger in a Strange Land - Robert Heinlein
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams
Econ/Social/Culture/Religion
Atlas Shrugged – Ayn Rand
Cat’s Cradle – Kurt Vonnegut
Dune – Frank Herbert
Speaker for the Dead – Orson Scott Card
A Case of Conscience – James Blish
Military | Space Warfare
Old Man’s War – John Scalzi
The Forever War – Joe Haldeman
Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut
Artificial Intelligence
Robots / Cyborgs / Tech
I, Robot – Isaac Asimov
Neuromancer – William Gibson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? – Phillip K. Dick
"A science fiction story is a story built around human beings,
with a human problem and a human solution,
which would not have happened at all without its scientific content.”
Theodore Sturgeon, celebrated author from the "golden age" of science fiction
(quoted in Blish, "On Science Fiction Criticism," 167)
Science fiction is "a narrative which draws imaginatively on scientific knowledge, theory, speculation, and the effect of future events on human beings in its plot, theme, and setting. It considers these events rationally in terms of explanation and consequences and is concerned with the impact of change on people. This is a form of fantasy which hypothesizes by logical extrapolation about the possibilities of space travel, adventures on other planets,etc. Recently, it has become a form of literature that takes place in an alternative future with these alterations based upon technological or sociological changes in the present."
Gail Rae, The Guide to Literary Terms
"Science fiction is a branch of fantasy identifiable by the fact that it eases the "willing suspension of disbelief: on the part of its readers by utilizing an atmosphere of scientific credibility for its imaginative speculations in physical science, space, time, social science, and philosophy."
Sam Moskowitz, Introduction to Explorers of the Infinity (1963), 11
"Modern science fiction is the only form of literature that consistently considers the nature of the changes that face us, the possible consequences, and the possible solutions."
Isaac Asimov, " "Why Read Science Fiction?" 3000 Years of Fantasy and Science Fiction," 1972, 10
Do not limit your searches exclusively to science fiction journals. There are many excellent peer reviewed literary journals that explore science fiction, speculative fiction, etc. Also look in scientific publications, some of which are also highlighted below.
The following SciFi publications are indexed in several of our databases. Full text articles are available for most issues. Click the covers below if you wish to learn more about the publications. THE MOST EFFICIENT WAY TO FIND INFORMATION IS TO KEYWORD SEARCH THE DATABASES. You can specify specific publications in the advanced search function.
|
|
|
|
|
Journal of the Fantastic
|
|
|
Classic Popular Magazines
|
Archived issues |
 Galaxy 1950-1980 archived on the Internet Archive about the publication |
|
Brave New Words:
Oxford Dictionary of Science Ficttion
Oxford University Press Online
use database proxy server password
GVRL SCIENCE FICTION
Resource Collection
Use your proxy server credentials to access databases off campus. See details below.
Developed by Andrea Owens for the research project designed by Henry McDonald. Last updated 4/2/19.
Questions or comments? Please email jdonahue@stxavier.org
If you need help locating information, please stop by the library.
