Film: Film Presentation Project - Mr. Cahill

Use the ADVANCED search option in all databases, including GVRL.

Combine:
Director's name
Concepts
(keywords such as mis-en-scene)
Qualifiers
analysis, significance, influence
profile, interview,
trademark, technique
groundbreaking, technique

Search our databases for in-depth critical analysis.
Always choose ADVANCED search option.

Enter the title of the film in quotes:
Example:  "Do the Right Thing"
Add director's name for clarification.

Add additional keywords such as:
film criticism
film analysis
movie review

Add additional concepts to
narrow down your search.
Example:  non restrictive narration

You will find a lot of great resources on the Internet, authored by talented and knowledgeable cinephiles.  There are many Internet web zines that are quite credible.  However, before using a source, check the authors credentials.  Ask yourself:

• What makes them an authority in their field?  
• What is their background and experience?
• Are they employed and/or published anywhere beside the blog sphere?   Are they paid professionals?   Or, is this a venue that gives them a place to express their views and expertise, perhaps build a portfolio? 
• Is there editorial oversight on the website?
• Who is publishing/sponsoring the website?  Is there an "about" link or some other statement of responsibility?

Finally, ask yourself:  Does what they write make sense? 

Examples of articles found on the web:

Search Google for:
Hitchcock "Psycho" Mis-en-scene
article

Search Google for:
Hitchcock "North by Northwest" non restricted narration
article

Sometimes databases index articles but do not provide the full text.  Do not give up. 
Sometimes you will be prompted to purchase articles when searching Google Scholar.  Do not pay for articles!!!

The University of Cincinnati generously provides us full text articles upon request.  

What should you do?
Email the citation to Mrs. Donahue jdonahue@stxavier.org, including details such as article title, author, source, pagination dates.

UC ILL usually responds with a day.

Our subscription databases are linked directly on campus; you will not need a password - they are validated by IP address.
Off campus, our databases are linked through a proxy server.

The screen will look like this:


You will be prompted for a user name and password. Your login is the same as your textbook credentials:

User Name
Is your network/email login.
Example: DonahueJ12345

Password:
Look at the number below the barcode of your StX photo ID

 5 digit ID# + stx
This sample student's password is:
12345stx

Use NOODLETOOLS to create citations.  

Select MLA format when you first set up your project. Select Advanced citation level.

In groups of three, students will research and analyze a film from the American Film curriculum and then present their findings and analysis to the class in a well-prepared, ten-to-fifteen-minute PowerPoint presentation.

OBJECTIVES:

1. RESEARCHING: To research the director and the catalogs of criticism on a given film
2. APPLYING: To apply the key concept we are studying in the class to a key central theme or effect in the film
3. PRESENTING: To teach the class about the director, the criticisms, and the terms central to the film in an organized, thoughtful, and professional manner.
4. COLLABORATING: To work together to generate an insightful, cohesive product 

1. INTRODUCTORY SLIDE (1-2 SLIDES)
   Research the director of the film.  What are his trademarks?  How do those trademarks show up in the film?  Do the biographical details of his life show up in the film in any way?
   TURN IN: an annotated print-out of the article (one for each member of the group)
    
2. CRITICISM SLIDES (3 SLIDES)
   Research criticisms of the film.  Each presenter should find one.  Prepare a precis for the criticism and share the contents of that article with the class.  Include your commentary on the research.  
   TURN IN: a four-sentence precis and an annotated article of the criticism (one for each member of the group)
    
3. DEFINITION AND APPLICATION OF THE MAIN TERM WE APPLIED TO THE FILM (1-2 SLIDES)
   Define the term and include some images.
    
4. PERSONAL RESPONSE TO THE FILM (3 SLIDES)
   Discuss what stuck out to you about the film.  What do you remember and why.
    
5. THE CONCLUDING SLIDE (1 SLIDE)
    
6. THE WORKS CITED SLIDE (1 SLIDE)

The film titles above are linked to the IMDB to provide basic background information about the movies.  To the right of the release dates are links to American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog 1893-1993 entries.

Includes access to the databases Academic Search Premier and Masterfile Premier.
Provides access to these publications which have movie reviews and director profiles:

Cinema Journal
Communication Quarterly
Critical Inquiry
Film & History
Film Criticism
Film International
Framework:  The Journal of Cinema & Media
Interdisciplinary Humanities
Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Literature Film Quarterly
Sight & Sound

The New Yorker
The Nation
Time

Critical analysis of film genres.

Excellent source for director profiles.
 

Academic Journals

ProQuest Central includes criticism / analysis from major film publications such as:
American Film
Cineast
Cinema Journal
Film & History
Film Comment
Film Culture archive
Film Quarterly
The Independent
Journal of Film & Video
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Literature/Film Quarterly
Sight & Sound

ProQuest US Newstream
provides reviews by premium national daily newspapers
Includes:
New York Times (1980 on)
Wall Street Journal (1984 on)
Los Angeles Times (1986 on)
Chicago Tribune (2009 on)
Washington Post (2013 on)
 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Access contemporary reviews and analysis in the following publications:
The New York Times ((1851 - 2013)
The Wall Street Journal ((1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1870-2000)
Useful for locating reviews of older films.

Search this extensive eBook collection for in-depth information on directors.

A few titles include:
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia of Film Noir
History of American Cinema