home: Film: Film

Recommended Websites

All Movie Guide
With information on more than 230,000 films this is a useful source for non-authoritative film info.
Internet Movie Database
International media database includes movies, television programs, games, video streaming, etc. This comprehensive source provides substantial information on the cast, production crew, directors and producers. Also features valuable plot summaries, biographies of fictional characters, and reviews. Extensively cross-linked.
Movie Review Query Engine
This movie review database provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with over 100,000 specific movies.
Flaherty Seminar
The Flaherty is a nonprofit media arts institution recognized as a leader in its support of the documentary and other independent film and video.
Media History Digital Library
"A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound." Hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Museum of the Moving Image: Moving Image Source
Be sure to check out the Research Guide for an in-depth list of resources.

New York Times - Current Movie Reviews

New York Times Movie Reviews: Major film critics on blockbusters, independents and everything in between.

Academic Organizations for Film Scholars

Society for Cinema & Media Studies
Professional organization of college and university educators, filmmakers, historians, critics, scholars, and others devoted to the study of the moving image. Resources.
University Film & Video Association
Articles, links, membership and conference information, publications, film related resources and programs

NPR News Feed - Film

Movie News Sources

A Conversation with Martin Scorsese: The Importance of Visual Literacy

Reading Film - The Story of Movies
Martin Scorcese, Edutopia

Film Study Resources

Film Analysis
Yale University

Film Journals

Search tip:

Film criticism articles from noted journals are available full text in our databases. If you want to access a particular journal, click the Advanced Search option, enter the journal name in the publication title field, and enter concept keywords and the title of the film.

Journals listed below can be searched in our databases. Starred journals are peer-reviewed and can be found in

Academic Search Premier
Ebsco Discovery
Jstor
ProQuest
Student Resources in Context (Gale)

Click on the links below if you would like to learn more about the publication or like to browse. To find articles efficiently, use databases to pinpoint search. OR search Google Scholar.

Afterimage: The Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism*

American Cinematographer Magazine
American Society of Cinematographers

Cineaste

Cinema Journal*
The Society for Cinema & Media Studies

Film & History: an Interdisciplinary Journal*
The Center for the Study of Film & History / American Historical Association / Project Muse

Film Comment

Film Criticism Journal*

Film History*
Indiana University Communications & Culture

Framework: The Journal of Cinema and Media*
Wayne State University Press

Journal of Film and Video*
University Film & Video Association

Post Script*
Texas A-M University

Sight and Sound