The 14 challenges defined in 2008 are to :
The above challenges are described in depth on the NAE website. Each section includes suggested resources and videos
These challenges can be categorized in 4 cross-cutting themes:
Get Updates here
Each of the above challenges lists references at the bottom of the page. Use these references as a launchpoint.
Pre-reading is an essential first step in research. YOU NEED INFORMATION TO FIND INFORMATION.
These references are helpful to learning the discipline jargon. Use them to assemble a working list of keywords.
Peer-reviewed scientific articles can be quite challenging. They are written for academics and researchers on the graduate school level. Below are two articles with advice on how to plow through dense information:
Research, prepare, and present on one Grand Engineering Challenge.
Requirements:
Presentation should cover:
CLICK DATABASE ICONS
TO ACCESS INFO
|
Choose ADVANCED option. |
|
|
|
Choose advanced option & Limit Search |
|
| check Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search returns |
|
|
Choose advanced option and
|
Jstor is a multi-disciplinary database providing full-text peer-reviewed articles from peer-reviewed journals. Use the advanced search feature for pinpoint searching.
To access articles from off-campus, you must first set up your own individual account. Here’s how
If you need help see Mrs. Owens or email aowens@stxavier.org
Once you’ve set up your own account, you can use Jstor any time or any place. On campus, you will get direct access without credentials.
Academic journals publish discipline-specific articles that have been peer reviewed. These are also referred to as refereed journals or scholarly journals. Material in these publications have been read and critiqued by other researchers and experts in the field. Based on the findings of these reviewers, the editors may request revisions or decline publication. The quality and accuracy of the information is vetted during this review processp
Video credit: Kristy Padron (Florida Atlantic University library) defines the peer review process, details the steps involved, and delineates why it is the "gold standard in publishing and the creation of new knowledge." https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSi89SY5xtQ"
Science provides access to "cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world."
Science has been published continuously by the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 1880. The AASL is a non-profit organization at the forefront of scientific discovery, committed to publishing the best research across the sciences. (FYI over a million scientific papers are produced annually. Science is a journal consistently ranked as one of the most cited.) (About AASL / Editorial Standards)
Access to multiple Physical Review journals is provided free and is available on campus only. Journal Descriptions. This site is produced for physicists, engineers and students of those disciplines.
Ebsco Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a VAST collection of images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, psychology, science & society, science as inquiry, and technology.
Science in Context (Gale) provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues. Merges authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
St. Xavier has an institutional subscription to The New York Times, which gives all employees and students individual access to The New York Times online.
To set up or renew your password, you must be on campus to register. After this initial step is accomplished, you can access the NYT anytime/anywhere, until next year when you have to renew your account again.
Click nytimes.com/passes to set up / renew your account. It is important to use your St. Xavier email – this will be your user name. You will then be sent a confirmation email.
If you already have an account, click “Log In here”. Enter your credentials. If you don’t remember your password, click “Forgot My Password” and you will be sent an email with a reset link. Resetting your password will renew your access.
The New York Times (1980 – present), The New York Times Book Review (1997 – present) and New York Times Magazine (1997 – present) are all available full text in ProQuest Newstand. It is easier to search the New York Times by keyword through this database.
Older issues (1851 - 2013) of The New York Times are available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. http://stxavier.ohionet.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/advanced?accountid=357&selectids=1006193,1007155,1007154,1006359
Our subscription databases are linked directly on campus:
(you will not need a password - they are validated by IP address)
Off campus, our databases are linked through a proxy server.
The screen will look like this:
You will be prompted for a user name and password.
Your login is the same as your textbook credentials:
User Name is your network/email login.
Example: OwensA12345
Password:
Look at the number below the barcode of your StX photo ID
5 digit ID# + stx
This sample student's textbook / database password is:
12345stx
Google Scholar searches Jstor better than Jstor searches Jstor. Use Google Scholar’s great search engine for pinpoint searching. Jstor links will appear to the RIGHT of the screen. You need to enter your Jstor credentials to launch articles when off campus.
DO NOT PURCHASE articles you locate in Google Scholar and other search engines!!!
Most full text articles can be obtained through InterLibraryLoan. The University of Cincinnati generously supplies access to peer-reviewed academic journals.
Email jdonahue@stxavier.org. Include the article citation (click the cite tab at the bottom of the record and copy), or send the article URL linked from Google Scholar. Mrs. Owens will complete the necessary ILL paperwork. Turn around time is usually a day.
BE SURE TO CHECK YOUR EMAIL for a pasword and link to your requested article and !!!
Tip: Download the article to your computer as soon as you get the link.
Project created by TIm Sorensen for Engineering class. Libguide developed by Andrea Owens. Please email jdonahue@stxavier.org with questions and comments.
