home: INFOGRAPHICS: Search for Data

Data Defined

"The Data Basics You Need to Know"
Is your data quantitative or qualitative
Learn more about data sets and how to best visualize and communicate your information.
Working with Data - SLA
Data Do's and Data Don'ts
Data Analysis for Chart Making
from Stem Literacy Infographics

American Fact Finder
find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Tools
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Census Bureau
leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy
Census Bureau Statistical Abstracts Infographics & Visualizations
Data.gov
covers a variety of topics, including agriculture, climate, education, energy, and science & research
Enigma Public Data
curated collection of open data - a gateway
Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Dataset Gateway - EPA's official open data catalog
Federal Researve Economic Data
FiveThirtyEight
Election data
Health Data
making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes
National Bureau of Economic Research
National Center for Education Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
gathered by the Center for Disease Control
Pew Research Center Datasets
also check out the Fact Tank blog for News in the Numbers as well as the subject sub-sections
President's Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition
facts and statistics gathered by the Department of Health and Human Services
Rand State Statistics
social science data for the U.S. at the national, state, and local levels.

Gapminder
Geob.ase Gazeteer
find statistics, population, weather, webcams, travel information for millions of worldwide locations
Google Public Data Explorer
provides a directory of official public statistics from the web
Human Rights Data Analysis Group
International Monetary Fund Data
UN Data
"a world of information" - a statistical database of all United Nations data
UNICEF Research and Reports
driving change for children through data - grounded in empirical data, rigorous research and thoughtful analysis
World Bank Data Banks
World Bank Data Indicators
World Health Organization - Global Health Observatory Data
find resources on water sanitation, childhood weight levels, disease and infection, etc.
World Mapper
a collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest

"... 80% of the work involved in creating an infographic
is data-gathering, shaping and checking.
Making the data juicy."

David McCandless
Data journalist & information designer
Information is Beautiful LINK

"In an uncharted world of boundless data,
information designers are our new navigators."

Singer, Natasha. "When Data Struts It's Stuff," The New York Times: April 7, 2011. LINK

Use graphics to enhance the brain's ability to recognize patterns and connections.
Illustrate the relationship between data elements.
Illuminate data structure - is it hierarchical? networked?

An infographic combines quantitative and qualitative data.
Analyze and Interpret

IMPORTANT QUESTIONS TO ASK AS YOU RESEARCH:

Flowing Data website
Produced by statistician and infographic guru Nathan Yau. Contains tutorials as well as a reflective analysis of data visualization in everyday contexts.
"... explores how statisticians, designers, data scientists, and others use analysis, visualization, and exploration to understand data and ourselves."
Telling Stories with Data

SEARCH SUGGESTION:
Data, Statistics
Research Results
Use as keywords when searching to pinpoint focused information

Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Delivers concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries,
Provides an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.

All the GALE IN CONTEXT databases list STATISTICS as a separate heading.

Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
United States History in Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window