Ancestry in America:
A Comparative City-By-City Guide to over 200 Ethnic Backgrounds--With Rankings
Search all Gale E-books
Off campus you will have to log in
Use your textbook / database credentials
Example: StudentA12345 / 12345stx
How to Trace Your African-American Roots by
This practical guide shows how to use the basic resources genealogists employ to trace their roots. The book stresses the rich oral history that is a fundamental part of the African and African-American tradition.
This link opens in a new window
In Search of Your Asian Roots by
Sheau-yueh J. Chao, a librarian on the staff of the Newman Library of Baruch College, has prepared a groundbreaking treatise on the related topics of Chinese-American genealogy and Chinese onomastics. In fact, her new book is the first basic tool in English that traces the origins of Chinese surnames. The Chinese possess one of the oldest genealogical traditions in the world, extending back to the Shang Period (1700-1122 B.C.E.). The author honors this tradition and provides context by including a glossary and a chronology of Chinese history to help readers in finding terms and the dates of imperial time periods referred to in the volume. Also included is a Pinyin to Wade-Giles Conversion Table for the benefit of readers who are less familiar with the Wade-Giles system of romanization of Chinese sounds adopted by the Library of Congress and utilized throughout the book. At the heart of the work are three principal chapters. Chapter 1 describes the history of Chinese surnames, the research on Chinese surnames in literature, and reasons surnames have changed in Chinese history. Chapter 2, by far the largest of the chapters, delivers a genealogical analysis of more than 600 Chinese surnames. Typically each surname sketch depicts the founder or other originating influence upon the name, the various locales associated with the surname, reasons behind alterations in the name, and so on. Chapter 3 consists of an annotated bibliography of Chinese and English language sources on Chinese surnames. The work concludes with separate indexes to family names, authors, titles, and Chinese-character stroke numbers (one mechanism used for grouping Chinese characters). The preparation of Genealogical Resources on Chinese Surnames was the result of a prodigious effort. Among other things, the author translated and analyzed nearly 200 books in ancient Chinese literature housed at Columbia University's East Asian Library, the Harvard-Yenching Library at Harvard University, and the Library of Congress. Its publication at this time is guaranteed to be a boon to East Asian researchers, librarians, bibliographers, students, and, of course, genealogical researchers working on their Chinese forebears.
This link opens in a new window
In Search of your British & Irish roots: a complete guide to tracing your English, Welsh, Scottish, & Irish ancestors by This link opens in a new window
In Search of your European roots: a complete guide to tracing your ancestors by This link opens in a new window
Mexican Genealogy Research Online by
"Mexican Genealogy Research Online: A Guide to Help You Discover Your Mexican Ancestry" will provide you with a solid foundation to being able to find your Mexican Ancestors online. Practically without leaving your home.
This link opens in a new window
Polish Roots (Korzenie Polskie) by This link opens in a new windowGenealogy
Family History
Ancestry
Heritage
Origins
Family Background
Lines of Descent
Pedigree
Progeniture / Progeny
Blood line / Lineage
Extraction / Derivation
Stock / Stirps
Stemma
Heredity
Parentage
Generation
Forebears / Forefathers
Kin / Clan / Tribe
Succession
Looking for ways to diagram ancestral information?
keywords: family tree (hobbyist), pedigree chart. ancestral chart
Sample Templates
Genealogy Research Databases
(you will need your PLCH credentials)
Comprehensive list of subscription databases
and curated websites.
Includes access to:
Heritage Quest - provides complete US Federal Census images for all decades (1790-1930) and name indexes for many years. Also included are about 8,000 family histories, 12,000 local histories, and 260 primary sources. Also includes Persi (genealogy index) and Freedmans Bank (African American Bank).
Ancestry (Classroom Edition) is a genealogical database collection including digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census (1790-1940), Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, Military Records, Vital Records (dating back to the 1800s), and more.
You must access Ancestry while on campus. It is also available at any Ohio public library branch. You will not be able to search this database at home.
Natl Archives Resources for Genealogists
Census Records
Military Records
Immigration Records (Passenger Lists)
Naturalization Records
Find a Grave is the best place on the internet to look for burial and other final disposition information for your family, friends and famous people. Memorials generally include birth, death and burial information and may include pictures, biographies, family information and more.
Obtain marriage, birth, divorce or death records from each state and county in the
The Statue of
http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/
The Ellis Island database provides access to the passenger arrival records of about 22 million people whose names appear in the original ships passenger manifests for the
http://usgenweb.org/index.html
Search the databases at the
Search portal
New England Historic Genealogical Society
