home: Theater: Stage Craft Research Project

Keywords

Search Our Catalog
for print, media & electronic sources

Subject Headings / Keywords

Costume Design
Drama – Technique
Dramaturgy
Scenography
Set designers
Stage craft
Stage lighting
Stage lighting designers
Stage management
Stage props
Theater lighting design
Theater – Production and direction
Theater Sound Design
Theater --Vocational Guidance
Theaters--Design and Construction
Theaters--Sound Effects
Theaters--Stage-setting and scenery
Theatrical makeup
Theatrical producers and directors

NOTE:
Check out the display of new technical theatre books
in the 700 section

Access StX resources off campus 24/7

Our subscription databases are linked directly on campus:
(you will not need a password - they are validated by IP address)

Off campus, our databases are linked through a proxy server.
The screen will look like this:

You will be prompted for a user name and password.
Your login is the same as your textbook credentials:

User Name is your network/email login.
Example: DonahueJ12345

Password:
Look at the number below the barcode of your StX photo ID

5 digit ID# + stx
This sample student's textbook / database password is:
12345stx

General Reseach Databases

These databases provide material across the curriculum, and pull from multiple resources: magazines, newspapers, books, podcasts, peer-reviewed journals, etc.

Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School simplifies your search for information by bringing together hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections into one easy-to-use database. While online browsers can serve up unreliable or incomplete results, this database lets you explore vetted primary sources, biographies, critical essays, and other materials in many formats — giving you deeper context to high-interest topics.
Gale In Context: High School brings together the authoritative content and tools needed to give students context for the high-interest topics they’re studying:

• Helps to develop critical thinking by offering content from a range of sources, such as the New York Times and Newsweek, along with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio files.
• Promotes discovery by enabling students to easily bookmark, print, download, email, and share information online through G Suite for Education and Microsoft Office 365 tools.
• Accommodates diverse backgrounds with ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology and on-demand article translation in over 20 languages.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Provides full text to magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags.
Key features:
•Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals
•Full text for more than 500 reference books
•Over 81,900 primary source documents
•Image Collection of over 935,000 photos, maps and flags
•PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Postand more

Project Definition - Ms. Harris

Areas of technical theatre to research:

Directing
Stage Management
Lighting Design
Costume Design
Props Design
Sound Design, including sound production and music composition
Hair and Makeup Design
Set Design

Complete the following:

Define your assigned area of theatre.
What is the specific purpose of that area of theatre?
How does that area of theatre contribute to the completion of the production both artistically and technically?

How does it support the theme artistically and technically?
How does it support the action artistically and technically?
How does it support the overall production design artistically and technically?

Search All Our Collections with Ebsco Discovery Search

Technical Theater eBooks in Ebsco Discoverer

The following is a sampling of eBooks that can be searched through the Ebsco Discovery interface. These titles are also linked from our catalog, and linked below. These are full text pdf files.

eBooks: Exploring Theater Series from Cavendish Square Online

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you first click on the book cover you will be prompted for credentials. Ignore and wait for the book to load. If it doesn't load the first time, click again and pause while it loads.

Classroom Video on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive (9,000+) collection of streaming video across the curricular content areas. Includes documentaries, filmed performances, interviews and archival newsreels.
Searchable by fully annotated segments.

NOTE: Be patient - these take awhile to load!

Interview series with theater instructors at
The University of California:

"Introduction to..."
Costume Design
Lighting Design
Set Design
Sound Design

History of Theatrical Lighting

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre + collaborates with renowned theater companies, actors and creatives to capture live performances in stunning quality and to bring you insights from behind the scenes.
" We curate the very best productions from over 50 of the world’s leading arts organisations; and we commission educational resources from leading practitioners and academics."

Resources include:
- classic, contemporary and international productions
- interviews exploring the dramatic, technical theatre-making process, as well as experimental, post-dramatic and applied theatre
- essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques

Internet Resources

Excellent overview - great place to start!
THE AACT Theatre People section details the job descriptions of all the key positions involved in running a show. This site provides useful information about their tasks and responsibilities of these jobs and more:
Costume designer
Director
Lighting Designer
Music Director
Playwright
Set Designer
Sound Designer
Stage Manager
Hair Dresser / Makeup Artist / Prop Master

"In the Wings"
A video series focusing on
various aspects of production.
"Career Guides"
Interviews with leading theatre.
design professionals.
"Working in the Theatre"
Emmy award winning series
on the inner workings of the theatre.

Look in Topics for resources on
Costume / Wardrobes
Lighting
Make-up
Props
Scenic / Stage Design
Sound
Stage Management
Note: In each section you will find a "Glossary of Technical Terms" focusing on the particular position.

Theater: Stage Craft Research Project

Print books available for checkout from our library...