home: AP Psychology / Neuroscience: Databases & Websites

Google Scholar

IMPORTANT: How to get full text access to article citations found in Google Scholar or in other search engines

DO NOT PURCHASE articles you locate in Google Scholar and other search engines!!!

Email jdonahue@stxavier.org. Include the article citation, or send the article URL linked from Google Scholar. Mrs. Donahue will send the article to your school email.

Psychology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers information concerning topics in emotional & behavioral characteristics, pscychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 530 journals.

ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring full text articles from 500+ journals facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. Also good for psychology research.

Get Connected @ the St. Xavier Library

WHY SMART SEARCH?

More efficient - Search ALL of our print and digital resources simultaneously! books ... articles ... multimedia ...
More accurate - Refine your search by entering multiple keywords in the search box.
More informative - Read the Research Starter on your topic (1st return), This background essay provides the context and research tips you need to find even better information.
More productive - Ranks the returns.

Search Our Catalog
for print, media & electronic sources

Check out our growing collection of ebooks & audiobooks
on OverDrive
OverDrive Tutorial

Access Gale Virtual Reference Library's 1500+ full-text ebooks.
The ultimate research collection!

Full list of our subscription databases

Go to A-Z List

More About Our Databases

Databases by Content Area:

The Arts

Biography

English / Literature

Science

Social Studies / History

General News

Search Related Subject Area Databases (click tabs to view)

Access Science This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
Features:
* links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations
*encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
*3000 scientific biographies
*specially designed curriculum maps
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
This is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Includes specialized science, mathematics and technology topics.
Excellent source for peer reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes
General science
Materials science
Aerospace
Engineering
Computers
Physics
Telecommunications
Transportation
Military
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive list of science-oriented content. This database contains full-text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, psychology, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Content is updated on a weekly basis.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information Includes reference resources, journal articles and video.
Includes reference resources, journal articles and video.
ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, etc. .
Includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines

Subject coverage includes:
Medical Science
Nursing
Allied Health
Public Health
Pharmacology
Psychology

ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
Subject coverage
Biological chemistry
Biophysics
Botany
Cytology and histology
Environmental studies
Microbiology
Microscopy
Neuroscience
Zoology

Multi-Subject Academic Databases with Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier (INFOhio Ebsco Host) This link opens in a new window
THE premier multidisciplinary research database for colleges and high schools. Provides access to 4600+ full-text peer-reviewed academic journals and premium popular magazines. Equally strong scholarly content for the humanities and the sciences.
Features:
*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
*Exceptionally well-written abstracts and strong keyword indexing.
*Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics.
Science Magazine Online This link opens in a new window
Scientists provide cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world.

AP Psychology / Neuroscience: Databases & Websites

Google Scholar

IMPORTANT: How to get full text access to article citations found in Google Scholar or in other search engines

Psychology Databases

Get Connected @ the St. Xavier Library

Search ALL Our Collections

Search Related Subject Area Databases (click tabs to view)

Multi-Subject Academic Databases with Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

Brain & Neuroscience Links

Credits