home: Chemistry: Home

Topics

The Atom

Matters & change
Elements & symbols
Scientific Measurement
Atomic Structure
Nuclear Chemistry
Electrons in atoms
Periodic Table

Bonding

Ionic & metallic bonding
Chemical names & formulas
Covalent bonding
Chemical reactions
Oxidation reduction
Chemical quantities & stoichiometry

Chemical Quantities

States of matter
Behavior of gases
Water & aqueous systems
Solutions

Reaction Types & Causes

Thermochemistry
Reaction rates & equilibrium
Acids, bases & salts
Oxidation-reduction reactions

Keyword Searching

Chemical Dictionary

Chemistry Dictionary Online

Science / Chemistry News Sources

Chemistry News (Technology.org)
Chemistry World (Royal Society of Chemistry)
register for free account for greater access
National Science Foundation News
Chemistry & Materials Research Overview
Science Daily
Chemistry News
Science Friday (public radio) - podcasts and articles
Focus on Physics & Chemistry
Science News
Science News for Students

Find Chemistry Information in Science Databases

The databases below are ordered by degrees of difficulty.

Access Science
An authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
Features:
* links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations
*encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
*3000 scientific biographies
*specially designed curriculum maps
Science Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides access to a comprehensive list of science-oriented content. This database contains full-text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, psychology, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Search by keyword, or browse the Chemistry portal for ideas.

Science Magazine Online
Scientists provide cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world.
ProQuest Science Database
This is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Includes specialized science, mathematics and technology topics.
Excellent source for peer reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes
General science
Materials science
Aerospace
Engineering
Computers
Physics
Telecommunications
Transportation
Military

General Databases

These are generalized databases
that pull from multiple resources:
(magazines, journals,newspapers, multi-media, etc.)
They will include a great deal of scientific information

Gale in Context - High School

Ebsco Host

ProQuest Platinum K12