Biology: Home

Search for  current article that demonstrates an application of the topics studied this quarter.  The article must have a scientific explanation.  

Summarize the article and explain how the article connects to what you have been studying in class.

Some of the topics studied:

• Scientific Method
• Graphing
• What is Life
• Chemistry of Water
• Biological Molecules
• Enzymes
• Cells
• Bioenergetics (Photosynthesis and Cellular Respiration)
• The Cell Cycle, Motsis, and Cancer
• Meiosis, Sexual Reproduction, and Development
• Stem Cells
• Genetics
• Molecular Biology (DNA, RNA, Protein Synthesis, and Gene regulation)
• Biotechnology
• Evolution
• Geologic Time
• Origin and History of Life
• Microbiology
• Contagious Disease
• Ecology
• Human Impact of the Environment

These are generalized databases
that pull from multiple resources:
(magazines, journals,newspapers, multi-media, etc.)
They will include a great deal of scientific information

 

Gale in Context - High School

Ebsco Host
 

ProQuest Platinum K12

Check out some excellent magazines which feature Biology articles. These sources can be searched through our databases.

Discover  Database: Academic Search Premier Science Reference Center	National Geographic:  Science   Database: Academic Search Premier Science Reference Center National Geographic Database	Nature Nature News Nature:  Biological Science News Database: Science Reference Center
Science Science News Note:  we have an institutional  subscription to Science. You will have complete access.	Scientific American Scientific American:  Biology Database:  Academic Search Premier Science Reference Center	Smithsonian Science Database: Academic Search Premier Science Reference Center

If you are like me and enjoy reading about science, perusing articles on a magazine's website keeps me "in the know..."   While these publications make quite a few articles from each issue available, many of the full text articles are not accessible on their website unless you subscribe and have a user name and password.  However, they often have additional material on their website such as podcasts, video and blogs.

The good news is that most of these publications are available through our database subscriptions.  Under each title is a link to the database where you can access full text articles.  If you see an article on magazine's website that interests you, just click on the database and track it down.  Please let me know if you need any assistance locating material.  jdonahue@stxavier.org

(We also have print copies of these publications in our library if you enjoy flipping through magazines.)

Science Daily

Science Friday  (public radio) - podcasts and articles
focus on Biology 

Science News
Science News for Students

Science Times - The New York Times
Sign up for the weekly newsletter (free)

National Science Foundation News
Biology Research Overview