home: WORLD LITERATURE: World Literature Resouces

Additional Literature Databases

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Covers world, American and English literature as well as linguistics. Includes full text articles from literature and language publications.
Delivers a diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
Bloom's Literature (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature. Delivers premium performance videos.
Contains information and criticism on specific literary works—from poetry to plays.

Websites of Interest

Gale Virtual Reference Library

GVRL, a cross-searchable database, provides 24/7 access to GALE’s robust collection of specialized multidisciplinary reference resources. Advanced search puts articles from 800+ multi-volume e-books at your fingertips with pinpoint accuracy. Superb content for deep background reading. Individual monographs are available from partner publishers.

There are two ways to search the books below.

Option 1: Click on a title cover and it will take you to the book's record.

At the top of the frame you will see a search box. Put in your keyword(s) to search within the publication.

Option 2: Use the ADVANCED search feature to search by keyword and book title.

THE TITLES BELOW WILL HELP YOUR SEARCH.

Click on GVRL. Select the ADVANCED SEARCH option in the top tool bar.
Enter your keyword in the 1st search field.
Enter the title of a book or series in the 2nd field and change the drop-down to "Publication Title."

Keyword searching in the database is much more effective than browsing the contents of individual books.

General Reference

Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. These volumes focus on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction.

Vol. 1    Latin American literature and its times
Vol. 2   African literature and its times
Vol. 3   British and Irish literature and its times:
Celtic migrations to the Reform Bill (beginnings-1830s)
Vol. 4   British and Irish literature and its times:
the Victorian era to the present (1837-)
Vol. 5   Spanish and Portuguese literatures and their times:
the Iberian peninsula
Vol. 6 Middle Eastern literatures and their times
(Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish)
Vol. 7 Italian literature and its times
Vol. 8 Classical literature and its times

4 volumes


2 volumes

POETRY

56 volumes	1900-Present	1900-Present
World Poets	European Poets	British, Irish & Commonwealth	Topical Essays

Contemporary Poets St. James Press

DRAMA

34 volumes

LONG FICTION / NOVELS

56 volumes		Vol 1 \| Vol 2

SHORT FICTION

46 Volumes
World Writers	British, Irish & Commonwealth	European Writers	Topical Essays

LITERATURE AND WORLD CULTURE

War & Peace 2 volumes	3 volumes

	3 volumes	3 volumes

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Search a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Features the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available::

comprehensive collection of full-text critical and literary analysis
popular commentary from broadsheets, encyclopedias, books & periodicals

Series you will find helpful for this project:

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Drama Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

You can search a specific series title in LItCritOnline.
Click the Advanced icon.

Enter a keyword in the 1st search field.

Type in a series title in the 2nd search field and select "Publication Title" in the dropdown.

Literature Resource Center

Features 130,000+ writers from around the world. Coverage includes:

interpretation of plays, novels, poetry & short stories
full-text scholarly literary criticism
reviews
story overviews
up-to-date biographical info
MLA Bibliography

WORLD LITERATURE: World Literature Resouces