home: Spanish Resources: Home

Databases

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book) This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language encyclopedia includes maps, images, and activities.
Features:
Read aloud text
Periódicos del Mundo Hispánico - Links to newspapers from Spanish-speaking countries.
Diccionario Visual - Visual Dictionary available in both Spanish and English.
Mundo de Animales - World of Animals provides animal facts, videos, images, and more.
Actividades – hands-on activities in Spanish with accompanying teacher’s guides
Hispánica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica (World Book) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia written from a Latin American perspective. Designed for native Spanish speakers & bilingual students.
Content is updated monthly. Includes articles, maps, timelines, over 1,000 videos, images, and interactive activities.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Offers an online collection of specialized reference eBooks for multidisciplinary research. Provides context through superb content for deep background reading.
\

Our GVRL collection has numerous sources on Hispanic artists, authors and historical figures. You can translate all articles into Spanish. Read access is also available in Spanish.

Culture, Geography, Country Studies, Global Issues

Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Delivers concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries,
Provides an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Designed to support global awareness. Empowers researchers to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective and critically analyze the most important issues of the modern world.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
National Geographic Magazine This link opens in a new window
Brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine
since 1888 along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Subjects cover travel, science, technology, history, environment, animals, photography, peoples and cultures.

Peer Reviewed Journals

Research Spanish art, culture, history and literature in academic journals.

Academic Search Premier (INFOhio Ebsco Host) This link opens in a new window
THE premier multidisciplinary research database for colleges and high schools. Provides access to 4600+ full-text peer-reviewed academic journals and premium popular magazines. Equally strong scholarly content for the humanities and the sciences.
Features:
*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
*Exceptionally well-written abstracts and strong keyword indexing.
*Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics.
ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications. Delivers an extensive online collection provides one-stop access to nearly 5,000 scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.

Vista VHL central

Click on the image above to go to the online version of your textbook.

Shmoop

COMING SOON!

información útil

How to Type Spanish Characters on an English Keyboard
BBC Languages - Spanish
This site has been archived and is no longer "active." It has a wealth of information.
Medline Plus in Spanish
SpanishDict
Word Reference

Oxford University Press Reference

These dictionaries are available on campus.

Access Databases Off-Campus

Off campus, our subscription databases are linked through a proxy server

The screen will look like this:

You will be prompted for a user name and password.
Your login is the same as your textbook credentials:

User Name is your network/email login.
Example: DonahueJ12345

Password:
Look at the number below the barcode of your StX photo ID

5 digit ID# + stx
This sample student's textbook / database password is:
12345stx

Multi-Media Archives

Classroom Video on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive (9,000+) collection of streaming video across the curricular content areas. Includes documentaries, filmed performances, interviews and archival newsreels.
Searchable by fully annotated segments.

Spanish Resources: Home