McGraw-Hill Online Poetry Glossary. Poetic terms and concepts useful for analyzing poems.
Poetry Explication from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Reviews some important techniques in poetry explication.
Critical Reading: A Guide. Professor John Lye of Brock University. Written for his first year students, this is a clear outline of how to approach analyzing poetry.
Poets.org currently features biographies of more than 500 poets, with new pages being added all the time. Find a poet by searching names and titles in their databases of more than 500 poet biographies. Browse through Poetic Schools & Movement, or browse through a list of Groundbreaking Books.
The archive includes the work of living poets from around the world. The initial unit features seven poets, including Philip Levine and Nobel Prize winners Seamus Heaneyand Czeslaw Milosz. The archive entry for each poet comprises audio clips of the poet reading several poems, the poet's comments on the works, a photograph of the poet, texts of the poems, a critical biography of the poet prepared by a scholar familiar with the poet's work, and a short bibliography. Poems are presented in their original languages, as well as in English translation.
The National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation have partnered with U.S. state arts agencies to support Poetry Out Loud, a contest that encourages the nation's youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and recitation. This program helps students master public speaking skills, build self-confidence, and learn about their literary heritage. Included are links to Poems & Performance, Find Poems, My Favorite Poems, Watch Video, Listen to Poetry, and Tips on Reciting.
The goal of this project is "to expose a diverse audience to a broad spectrum of poetic voices, build an appreciation and an audience for poetry, and increase the presence of the poet." (from the website)
Explore Learning Lab, Poem Guide, About this Poem, Glossary, Essays on Poem Theory. Included are general poetry sites, teacher-specific resources, single-poet archives, audiovisual archives.
Try out Poetry Foundation’s free POETRY mobile app and take hundreds of poems by classic and contemporary poets with you wherever you go.
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/mobile/
Representative Poetry Online (RPO)
Hosted by the University of Toronto, Representative Poetry Online is a “web anthology of 4,800 poems in English and French by over 700 poets spanning 1400 years.” It also has a cool timeline of poetry-related events starting in the year 383 and extending to 2010.
Includes poems that are searchable by form, theme, and poet. Entries include the text of the poem along with an audio recitation of the poem, as well as thematic and biographical information.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
WHAT: Contains eBooks most commonly found in reference collections. However, these can be reached 24/7, read in full text or audio and are available to multiple users working on the same project.
WHY: Contains Poetry for Students series.
TIPS: Use the ADVANCED search and select PUBLICATION TITLE. Type Poetry for Students. Next line, select KEYWORD. Enter topic, name of poem or poet.
