LitFinder spans history and geography to offer nearly 150,000 poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays representing the work of more than 80,000 authors, representing more than 660 nationalities.
|
Bloom's Literary Reference Online database includes thousands of author biographies searchable in various ways including nationality, type of writing, genre and time period; overview, synopses, analyses and literary criticism of thousands of works including prose, poetry and plays; in-depth articles on topics and themes; some 38,000 analyses of literary characters; and literary timelines. Also included are all the essays by literature maven Harold Bloom from his Western Literary Canon. |
Critical Companions to Contemporary Popular Writers offers immediate access to hundreds of titles by 46 of the most widely read contemporary writers. Includes the following popular authors: Julia Alvarez , Rudolfo Anaya, V.C. Andrews, Maya Angelou, Ray Bradbury, Tom Clancy, Mary Higgins Clark, Arthur C. Clarke, James Clavell, Pat Conroy, Robin Cook, Michael Crichton, Louise Erdrich, Howard Fast, Ken Follett, Ernest J. Gaines, John Grisham, James Herriot, Tony Hillerman, John Irving, John Jakes, Garrison Keillor, Jamaica Kincaid, Stephen King, Barbara Kingsolver, Maxine Hong Kingston, Dean Koontz, Robert Ludlum, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Anne McCaffrey, Colleen McCullough, Terry McMillan, Larry McMurtry, James Michener, Toni Morrison, Gloria Naylor, Chaim Potok, Anne Rice, Tom Robbins, John Saul, Erich Segal, Amy Tan, Anne Tyler, Leon Uris, Gore Vidal, Kurt Vonnegut. .
Literature in Context is a rich collection of primary source material, collateral readings, and commentary that helps students understand the historical, social, and cultural milieu associated with major literary works. Works examined are Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Animal Farm, Annie John, Black Boy, Call of the Wild, Catcher in the Rye, Crucible, Death of a Salesman, Diary of a Young Girl, Grapes of Wrath, Great Expectations, Great Gatsby, Hamlet, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Jane Eyre, Julius Caesar, Literature of World War II, Lord of the Flies, Macbeth, Merchant of Venice, Of Mice and Men, the Red Pony, the Pearl, A Midsummer Night's Dream, O! Pioneers and My Antonia, The Odyssey, The Old Man and the Sea, Othello, Pride and Prejudice, A Raisin in the Sun, Red Badge of Courage, Romeo and Juliet, Scarlet Letter, Separate Peace, Tale of Two Cities, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Things Fall Apart, and To Kill a Mockingbird..
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
LitFinder is a collection of over 85,000 full-text poems and accompanying explanatory materials are carefully selected to meet curriculum needs by Roth's Editorial Board in consultation with Roth's Advisory Board composed of English teachers, librarians and poets. LitFinder has now added full-text short stories and essays and will grow on a daily basis with more new features!
Project Muse provides an online collection of scholarly peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences from not-for-profit publishers.
Proquest Learning Literature is a comprehensive resource including 3,000+ author biographies; 40 searchable full-text literature journals; full-text literary works; and other key criticism and reference sources
American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of poets from around the world, written by subject experts.
Dictionary of Literary Symbols
A dictionary of nearly 200 symbols found in literature. Focuses on literary references rather than universal psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Also provides cross-references and quotations. Emphasis on English literature. Entries range from the Bible and classical authors to modern-day writing, taking in American and European literatures.
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts -- from the biographical to the literary to the historical -- in which literature can be viewed. Identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.
Literary Movements for Students : Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literary Movements
Entries provide in-depth historical background information on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of each movement's characteristic styles and themes.
Literary Newsmakers for Students
Provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama.
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice
Works included represent a wide range of circumstances in which individuals experience prejudice in American, British and world literature. The discussion goes well beyond race, religion, and gender into ethnicity, social status, mental and physical health, and personal beliefs and behaviors.
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream
Provides readers with an overview of literary works that explore the theme of the American dream. Analyzes poetry, plays, short stories, novels, and works of nonfiction that address this theme in some capacity, and how that theme has been treated in literature at different times in history and across diverse cultures.
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace
Presents a myriad of viewpoints, so that modern readers can begin to grasp the complexities of war and its impact. Such stories give voice to the individuals who fight and are fought against, who are injured, who suffer on the battlefield and at home, and who, inevitably, can no longer speak for themselves. Examines dominant and recurring subthemes in the literature of war; including survival, terrorism, leadership, and genocide.
Nonfiction Classics for Students : Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Nonfiction Works
Provides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
Shakespeare for Students : Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry
Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Click on the Icon to search all of our Literature ebooks at once.
