Automobiles / Alternative Energy: Home

Use Your Words!

If your search is unsuccessful, try these steps:

1. Double check your spelling
2. Play with different keywords
   (generate a list of synonyms)
3. Read background articles to get a list of discipline jargon / terminology
4. Move on to a different database

Example Keywords
renewable fuel
electric car
green technology

energy management / energy storage system

Synonyms

car* / auto* / vehicle

renewable energy / alternative energy

Use wildcards

Auto* is a wildcard that searches auto, automobile, automotive, etc.
Put phrases in quotes to search precisely:

"electric automobile technology"

"alternative fuel vehicle"

You can enter multiple keywords and make sets:
auto* future  "alternative energy"
"automotive engineering" "fuel cell"

These are generalized databases that pull from multiple resources  (magazines, journals,newspapers, multi-media, etc.) They will include a great deal of scientific information

 

Gale in Context : High School 
 

Ebsco Host
 

ProQuest Platinum K12

Many science topics generate discussion and controversy.  You will find lots of fascinating content in these databases:

Points of View Reference Center
(INFOhio Ebsco Host)

Issues & Controversies
 

Global Issues in Context

GVRL, a cross-searchable database, provides 24/7 access to GALE’s robust collection of specialized multidisciplinary reference resources. Advanced search puts articles from 800+ multi-volume e-books at your fingertips with pinpoint accuracy. Superb content for deep background reading.  Individual monographs are available from partner publishers.

These ebooks are digitized versions of the original print resources.  If your teacher tells you that you must have a book source, these books qualify. 

Note:  Use the ADVANCED search feature to search by keyword and book title.  Search GVRL like you would a regular database.  Tinker with keyword combinations.

A GVRL search return looks like this:

Click the View Text icon to launch the full text article.  Your search terms will be highlighted in the text.   Click the Listen icon at the top of the article to hear a recording.   Note the tool set to the right of the article -->   Click Citation Tools to get the correct citation format for your sources.  Work smart:  if you decide that this is a source you want to use, e-mail yourself the article immediately.  Don't waste valuable time retracing your steps.  Once the email loads in Outlook you are guaranteed repeat access to the information whether or not you have current internet access.  Note:  if you don't see the email check junk mail. Click Related Subjects to see more subject terms which you can click to find additional information.

Sample Project Resources in GVRL

The most efficient way to find content (journal / magazine / newspaper articles) is to search our subscription databases.

You can search by keyword to find specific topics.  You can focus that search by adding a date range and publication in the advanced search function.

Sample Search:
Search ProQuest Science Databases for:
car* "renewable energy"