Chinese: Home (JC)

Enjoy these sites via reading, listening and singing along.

• Learning Chinese from china.org.cn
• Beginner's Chinese Audio for iTunes
• BBC - Learn Chinese - All You Need to Start Learning Chinese
• Read Chinese!
• Chinese Society in the New Millennium
• Chinese Pod
• Chinese language podcasts

Infographic by Alberto Lucas Lopez 2015
published by The South China Morning Post
http://www.scmp.com/infographics/article/1810040/infographic-world-languages

• China Times  
   
  from Taiwan
•  
  Guangming Ribao  
•  
  Hua Xia Wen Zhai  
•  
  A weekly newspaper from China
• Lianhe Zaobao  
   
  A daily newspaper from Singapore
• Mingpao News  
   
  from Hong Kong
• Renmin Ribao  
   
  The official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party
• Wenhuibao  
   
  from Shanghai
  Chinese Newspapers  -This site lists over 20 Chinese newspapers or other news sources, many in Chinese, though some are in English or other languages. In addition to national newspapers likeRenmin ribao, local news sources are also included from such areas as Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Jinan, Hong Kong, Qingdao, Xinjiang, and Yunnan. Some specialized online papers are also included, such as Fazhi ribao (Legal Daily), Jinrong shibao (Financial Times) and Nongmin ribao. 
  
  This is a good site for students to practice their newspaper reading, and for teachers to look for authentic supplementary materials for class. It should be noted that users should already have Chinese enabled on their computers as no hints or tips on this are included on the site.
   

• The China Experience: China Culture Index  
   
  Arts & Architecture, Literature, Food & Drink, Calligraphy, Folk Customs, Performing Arts, and more
• Chinese Culture  
   
  from About.com
• Chinese Internet Radio  
   
  A listing of online news radio, talk, information programs, and music programs featuring music in Chinese
• Everything Chinese Portal  
   
   

• Chinese Classics  
   
  A large collection of Chinese classic literature
•  
  Chinese Text Initiative  
•  
  Classical Chinese Literature  
•  
  Project Gutenberg - Chinese
  Full-text public domain works in Chinese

• Chinese culture  
   
  Explore the beauty and diversity of China via travel  
•  
  China Map  
•  
  History of China from Academic Info
• Lots of good sources
• History of Chinese Imperial Cuisions  
   
   
• Librarians' Internet Index  
   
   
• Confucius Institute in China  
   
• Animated Chinese Characters
   
   
•  
  Chinese Language  
• List of longest reigning emperors in China  
   

Online Dictionaries

Chinese English Dictionary Search  This site from the University of Maine allows you to search in Chinese, English and pinyin.Audio files provide pronunciation.

MDBG Chinese English Dictionary  Search in Chinese, English, and pinyin. Audio files provide pronunciation.

Nciku Online Chinese English Dictionary   Search in Chinese, Engish and pinyin. Audio files provide pronunciation.

WordReference.com  English/Chinese, Chinese/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.

forvo.com Chinese words pronounced by native speakers

zhongwen.com -  This site is essentially an online traditional etymological dictionary of Chinese characters. Instant lookup of any character is available via copy-and-paste, pronunciation (Hanyu pinyin), radical, or stroke count. After the character a brief etymology is presented, followed by some example compounds that include the character. Another pane to the right of this shows a chart graphically illustrating the character's links to other related characters. Especially useful is the list of "reverse-indexed" compound words following each entry. This lists words that include the target character in a noninitial position, allowing the student to, for example, look up a word via its pronunciation even when the initial character's pronunciation is unknown. All characters and examples are in traditional characters, but for each character entry the simplified equivalent is shown in parentheses. The dictionary is based on the traditional etymological sourceShuowen Jiezi, as well as subsequent research. Harbaugh cautions though that the site presents traditional etymologies for the purpose of seeing interconnections and facilitating memorization, and does not necessarily reflect insights from current etymological research. In other words, the guiding purpose of the site is to help students appreciate and learn the language. The site also includes a number of other useful features, such as online pinyin chat, lists of other Chinese language-related links, and a number of readings from a variety of Chinese literary works.